Get Into the Groove

I’m really good with writing deadlines. I always have work in on time. This includes first drafts, edits, rewrites and final drafts. It doesn’t matter if I’m rocking a day job or multiple jobs at once. My writing is ALWAYS on time.

Except.

When it’s for me. In which case, I’m the worst freelancer and editor combined. I ask for deadline extensions and grant them for myself. My final drafts never get written and I never make myself accountable for them. In fact, anything beyond the first draft or a few rewrites rarely see anything beyond the inside of my “Work in Progress” folder on my computer desktop.

This has got to stop.

I recently made a big-ish job decision. One that might be the stupidest or the smartest decision I’ve ever made. I’m not entirely sure yet. But like hell I’m going to sit here and just see what unfolds. I don’t like to sit and wait.  I’m gathering up my little words like pawns on a chessboard. They are my first line of defense. They need to save both the castles (my home) and the queen (me). They have a big job to do and they’ve been waiting for this moment to get in the game.

But I digress from the real reason for this post.

A few things lead to my recent decision. Mainly, I was starting to doubt myself and my words. I needed to refocus my goals and start saying no to others and yes to myself. This is why I decided to attended Maggie Mason’s post-BlogHer NYC Meetup. This was the first thing I was going to do for myself. There were bunches of awesome bloggers/writers at the event. These ladies had websites with a focus and a following. Apart from my “Photo a Day” blog on Tumblr, I have this blog, which I hadn’t updated since June. At the meetup, I was inspired by people who truly keep up with their site because writing is their passion. It helps them better understand who they are or who they want to become. They are explorers in their own lives. Not all of these bloggers have audiences in the millions, but they don’t care. They love what they do and they are in a groove. I wanted to be in a groove, too. It was then that I made another decision for myself: I will stick to writing here daily. I’m forewarning you, some posts might suck. Some days I might just post pictures of shoes I’m coveting online or a song I’ve been listening to on repeat. Hopefully, that will only happen until my chessboard strategy becomes clear. Until all of the little pieces start to make sense. Then things will start to move. Right?

I’m also going to post my life list on here. Because it’s been collecting enough dust as a Word doc, and I want to start Golden Ponying that shit. What is a life list, you ask? Well, it’s not this. It’s more like this. Perhaps some of my items will align with those of other Life Listers and we can work on an item together. Power in numbers, people!

So, here’s to the start of a year full of words. I’ll throw as many of them out (in a timely manner and as coherently) as possible. For the few hundred of you here reading, in the words Bravo TV, my favorite highbrow/lowbrow network: Watch What Happens.

Leave a Reply

