Monday’s Watch, Listen, Read

Watch

Since I’m now on an OK Go kick, thanks to last Monday’s “Watch,” here’s another one. Super cool. Way better than lining up dominos and knocking them down.

Listen

I go on long walks around the city when I have writer’s block or during periods where I’m rewriting a piece. It helps me think and gets me away from the glare of my computer screen. All of these walks have soundtracks I’ve created for them named after the streets I walk down: Sixth Avenue, Bleecker, Fifth Avenue, West Side Highway, Ninth Avenue. I’ve yet to explore soundtracks for the east side of Manhattan –probably because I never walk farther east than University Place. I especially like my Bleecker Street mix because it features (what I call) the music storytellers: Paul Simon, Django Reinhardt, Joni Mitchell, Carole King, Carly Simon, George Gershwin, John Pizzarelli and Aaron Weinstein. The last two musicians duet with their fancy string instruments on my “Listen” pick of the week. If I had the opportunity to music supervise a movie based on my life, Pizzarelli and Weinstein’s “Cocktails for Two” would be featured during a black and white montage of my West Village walks. During this scene, I would also look like Diane Keaton in Annie Hall.

Click to listen: Cocktails For Two

Read

I’m still sloughing my way through the Franzen book, but I can tell you I’m putting everything on hold once I obtain a copy of this book:

Is this a new David Sedaris book, you ask?

Why yes, yes, it is!

But, there are illustrations, you say. Are you sure this isn’t a book for children?

Based on this NPR piece about the book, I’m quite certain you do not want your small children to read Sedaris’ version of Aesop’s Fables. Though you and I can probably stand to learn a thing or two from it.

Leave a Reply

