Monday’s Watch, Listen, Read

Watch

This is one of my favorite movies, written by the fabulous Nora Ephron (more about her in today’s Read pick). This particular clip was chosen as a tribute to my middle/high school friend, who got married this past weekend. I will never forget the moment she told me, over brunch at French Roast, that she wanted to marry her (now) husband (and by the way, did I know what was taking him so damn long to ask her?) She said, “When I realized I wanted to spend the rest of my life with him, I wanted it to happen right away.” It was a a beautiful statement. It was also a very cinematic line. It immediately brought to mind “When Harry Met Sally.” If you haven’t already seen this movie (shameful!), you are missing out on a brilliant classic.

Congratulations to my friends, S&S. The rest of your life (together) starts now. xo


 

 

 

Listen


Sondheim music is something that is infused in the blood of nearly every American. One year, I worked on two books that heavily relied on Sondheim lyrics for either the book title or lyric reprints within the novel. I was surrounded by Sondheim. The man is a genius, and, as I learned the other evening when I saw him speak live, he’s also very charismatic, funny, charming, and sensitive (though anyone could guess that from his lyrics). This song also happens to be the title of his new book, a collection of lyrics with attendant comments, principles, heresies, grudges, and anecdotes.*

Read

I Remember Nothing by Nora Ephron

If I could, I would read everything Nora Ephron has written, including her mental list of the best pies in New York, because it’s bound to be filled with witty observations and asides. I Remember Nothing is a smaller slice of Ephron pie. You’re not quite getting the full flavor of her flakey, buttery words and the same bursts of juicy opinions that she generously served up in I Feel Bad About My Neck. Nonetheless, I Remember Nothing is still satisfying to the palate. The only downside is it leaves you wanting more, but aren’t all delicious treats like that?*

*More on Nora and Steve later in the week. Please standby…


2 responses to “Monday’s Watch, Listen, Read

  1. Pingback: MFA, NYC-Style | The Brow

  2. Pingback: MFA, NYC-Style | The Brow

Leave a Reply

