Monday’s Watch, Listen, Read

An ongoing series where I share what I’m watching, listening to, and reading. Here are this Monday’s picks:

Watch

When I grow up, I will likely be just like this. I’d also like a voiceover guy to follow me around and narrate my life. And I want the fabulous, ever-changing decor, of course.

Listen

I love the horns. I love the drums. I love the beat. What more can you ask for in an excellent song?

Read

I went into this book knowing nothing about it. I didn’t read the flap copy or the Amazon/news/magazine reviews, I just read. And, whoa. Whoa. At first, the story moved along, it was poetic at times and comfortable in a cozy, wrapped-in-your-down-comforter kind of way. I was observing a family and the intricacies, flaws, and moments of happiness that come with being a part of a familial unit. Then, suddenly, it was like someone punched me in the gut and knocked the wind out of me. I literally sucked in my breath. Anna Quindlen constructs beautiful (and beautifully flawed) characters and has them face the worst possible thing that could happen in a family.Quindlen hits where it hurts, doesn’t apologize and it is the most “real” work of fiction I’ve ever read. She’s a sharp prose writer who knows when to keep emotions and language raw. There’s a fine line to such a balancing act and Quindlen walks it like no one’s business.

Every Last One is not for the faint of heart or soul. It’s haunting, it will make you cry (several times), it might even give you nightmares. Despite the awful-sounding-ness of my warning, it’s still a must-read. A masterful story penned by an exquisite writer.

Leave a Reply

